Because I Like Them, That’s Why

I’m going to post another ‘before and after’ series of the garden. Why? See the title of the post. Also, I like seeing the progression, how lush and green everything gets. In the day-to-day slogging of watering, feeding, removing weeds, and watching darling husband do all those things, you forget where you started in the spring.

2014-04-20 13.07.20

April. Planting day.

2014-05-17 17.21.37

May.

2014-07-06 12.08.56

July 6th. Ignore the grass growing through the patio stones. I pull it, since I refuse to use chemicals on the garden. It’s annoying that it keeps coming back, but I don’t have mutated salmon in the river on my conscience.

2014-04-20 13.08.00

April, I believe. Again, darling husband working tirelessly while I’m snapping pictures.

2014-07-06 12.09.57

And today, July 6th.

2014-05-17 17.21.08

Blueberries, grapes and hanging baskets in April.

2014-07-06 12.09.33

And today. We’ve gotten multiple pounds of blueberries and raspberries, the old grape vines have set a few bunches of grapes, and even my new vine has one beautiful grape bunch on it.

2014-07-06 12.10.23

Finally, this keeps my Disneyland hopes alive all summer. I’ll admit I have an irrational love of Disneyland, but it IS the Happiest Place on Earth, and who wouldn’t want to go there? Huh? Who?

Hope your summer is blooming all around you, and as full of joy as it is of bugs.

One Response

  1. I don’t know why you won’t live with us in the spring and get my garden going? I mean, you can have Grey’s room now that he will be gone. (Sniff….sob) I need help. I’ll even do the work while you take pictures.

    3-2-1…. GO. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

