The Beach

I have a thing about the ocean, my dear readers. I love it. It’s kind of my happy place. And if I am near an ocean, I must put my toes in it, even if it’s 45 degrees outside, and the water temp is 36 degrees. Rain, shine, fog, snow… I hit the beach, the shoes come off, and it’s toe-freezing time. With a smile.

061

We were fortunate last week when we stayed at one of the local beaches – no real rain, just a few spits – and mostly sunny and warm days. For the Oregon coast, it’s a rarity to have such great weather, and we took advantage of it every day.

2014-08-15 11.47.50

We shopped at all the kitschy stores, went to the requisite candy-making emporium and bought enough sugar to fuel an entire elementary school, walked through the art galleries like we could afford to be picky.

2014-08-16 12.08.49

We (or rather, the sprogs) created the ultimate campsite/firepit to watch the sunset, including relocating a stump to create a bar. They even used the level app on the iPhone, so our beers wouldn’t tip over. Commitment to quality, people. It’s what we’re all about.

2014-08-16 12.08.03

And it was so worth it. Every grain of sand still in my hair, every stepped on rock/stick/pointy shell, every bug that crawled on me….

2014-08-16 20.32.04

2014-08-16 20.11.36

2014-08-16 20.15.22

I’m counting the days until we can go back. I love the beach.

4 Responses

  1. Gorgeous! (Talking about that top picture.) The sunset is rather breathtaking as well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

