“Start spreading the news…”

You know the song…come on…sing with me… “I’m leaving todaaaaay!” Okay, that’s not quite true. I don’t leave today. I leave Wednesday at o’dark hundred. New York – here I come!

I know I should stay home. I know I should have re-scheduled so I can be sure youngest sprog completes his projects and studies for his finals. I know all these things, yet I’m still going.

“I want to be a part of it…New York…New York!!!!”

Bad parenting? Selfishness to the max? Maybe. But I have a wonderful and capable husband that will do everything I could do, barring the oversharing and whining about Rocky Road ice cream. They’ll all be fine.

“These little town blues…are melting awaaay…”

Oldest son will be moving back home for the summer. Middle son will be buying a new Mac Book with his graduation gift money (which will match his sparkly new iPhone). Youngest will be studying his head off to try to pass some classes. When I return next week, it’ll be like I never left at all.

It’s gonna be a great trip, and a welcome break for me. I can hardly wait!

“It’s up to you, New York…New York!!”

Leave a Reply

