Like an earworm…

You know earworms, right? A song you can’t get out of your head even if you used a sledgehammer and dynamite? Usually one so annoying you want to scream.

Like “Having My Baby“.

Or “The Macarena“.

Or “Be a Man” from Mulan. Sad, but true. I sang it all morning, ask the middle sprog.

But even after I was done singing, a phrase kept floating in and out of my thoughts. I’m not sure why. Maybe it was seeing the Mel Brooks DVD collection at Costco. Maybe it was watching bits and pieces of High Anxiety over the weekend.

The phrase is from Blazing Saddles, and it cracks me up every single time.

Gene Wilder’s character is trying to piddle off the KKK guys, so he says: “Oh boys, lookee what I got heyuh!”

Blazing saddles 1

Then Black Bart (Cleavon Little) says: “Hey, where the white women at?”

Seriously, how can you not love Mel Brooks? And that makes me think of Madeline Kahn, one of my favorite actress/comedians. She was golden in everything she ever did.

Who doesn’t adore Lilli von Schtupp?

Blazing saddles 2

She’s sick and tired of love. From below and aboooooove…

And in History of the World, Part 1, where she played the Empress Nympho.

madeline kahn 1

“Oh Bob…do I have any openings that this man might fit?”

Now I’m going to go to Costco and buy the damn DVD collection.

Leave a Reply

