Most Wonderful Time of the Year

I’m not going to get all righteously indignant about the e-mail I got this morning from a major retailer that announced, “sleigh bells ring.” The major retailer’s name rhymes with Schmarget, though, in case you were wondering. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised since Costco’s had Christmas stuff since September.

October 31 2009 015

I mean, it’s barely autumn here, after all. This is the view from my front porch yesterday. See all that green? Fall doesn’t really start until about now.

When I was growing up, November was my favorite month. We never had a full week of school because of Veteran’s Day, Thanksgiving, grading days and inservice days. I loved school, but I loved days off even more. And there was always the chance of a one-in-a-million snowfall. We don’t get much snow here in the Pacific Northwet, so if the temperature gets anywhere near 35 degrees I go on immediate SnowWatch6000. It’s kind of like the weather systems that the TV stations use, but a little more, uhhh, annoying. 

But the real reason I love November is because it’s my birthday month. I’m being honest, here, not angling for anything. For a long time, I thought the days off of school were in my honor. Awww. Aren’t little kids are cute? So consider these points: lots of days off, presents, holidays, possible snow fall.

Yep, I love November.

nano_09_blk_participant_100x100_1_png

 NaNoWriMo word count, Day One ….

1,813 words.

Leave a Reply

