Eleven Eleven

Thank you, veterans, one and all

For answering when you heard the call

For risking all, both life and limb

For pushing through when things looked grim.

Though it’s my wish you get your due

You won’t mind if I share with you

A fervent wish of love and peace.

A wish for all warfare to cease.

I’d like a world that has no need

Of violence, in word or deed.

Where sons and daughters, husbands, wives

Don’t have to sacrifice their lives

For any reason, none at all.

It’s just my wish, however small.

Thank you for for doing what was right

And fighting when you had to fight.

Now work and pray with me some more –

To finally be free of war.

 

PoppyClose

(This poem was written by me, not lifted off the web or copied. Just lil ole me.)

2 Responses

  1. Did you write that? It’s very good.

  2. Yep. It’s all me. And thank you. Hope you liked your cookies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

