Magic Loot

It feels a little squicky and weird to post about my gifts from birthday and Christmas. A little. Aww, what the hell…I’m going to do it anyway. I’ll embrace the consumerism and roll in the fancy-schmancy labels. Guess I’m a Material Girl, after all.

These are some of my favorite things, if I have to choose (things, not people). First off, I should tell you that I have a slight problem with the acquisition of Starbucks mugs. I may be the charter member and president of Starbucks Mugs Anonymous, but in my defense I only buy them on sale. I never pay retail. Not much of a defense, but it’s all I’ve got. What’s the first step again?

Some backstory – darling husband bought me a Tiffany bracelet for Christmas. He drove downtown, parallel parked even, and picked something out that he thought I would like. It was beautiful – silver and pearls with a delicate chain connecting one pearl to another. And it would have been broken in about 4.2 seconds had I worn it. So, we schlepped down there today to exchange it and I got this bracelet AND a necklace! Woo hoo! Beautiful and sparkly. Have I mentioned that I love sparkly?

And my lost little lamb, my wandering e-book reader…my Nook (or nook, as Barnes and Noble calls it). It arrived after a one day layover somewhere in Portland with more frequent flyer miles than George Clooney in ‘Up in the Air’. (Nice reference, Julie. Topical. Relevant.)

Went to B & N yesterday to find out why I couldn’t download any books and shop for a cover. The no-book thing got a little irritating. Kinda why I bought the damn thing, huh? But the nice Nook-man had a solution, and within a few minutes I was poorer in moola and richer in words. I have five books now, including the three they gave me for free (Little Women, Jane Eyre and Dracula). Looking at the picture, all I know is that it’s time to polish and seal the %$#& table. Brother.

Enjoy the rest of your Saturday. I’m going to go read something that’s the intellectual equivalent of a hot fudge sundae – it’s fun, but you’re sure it’s not entirely good for you.

4 Responses

  1. So happy your Nook arrived safely and looks so great that it’s making you rethink your furniture choices on which it’s displayed. P.S. I think it’s always okay to post about the Little Blue Box.

  2. My poor dining room table. I don’t even see the abuse until it’s almost too late. 🙂 Thanks for the ‘thumbs-up’ on the LBB. I noticed that the prices in NYC were much higher than they are here…maybe because they have entire floors devoted to silver, diamonds, other stuff. And because we provincials would be shocked at big city prices.

  3. Please keep in mind that I am have a provincial pocketbook.

  4. Me too! Twins again!

Leave a Reply

