My Favorite Parts

In case you didn’t watch the “So You Want to Write a Novel” video clip, here’s the best of the best.

First Bear (or whatever they are): “Have you ever attempted to write a novel-length manuscript?”

Second Bear: “I’ve already written the first page. It’s really awesome. I plan to finish by the end of the week. Do you think I can get it published in time for the Christmas shopping season? I’m going to need the money soon.”

First Bear: “It’s December 4th. Probably not.”

Second Bear: “I’ll just call a few agents and let them fight over me.”

First Bear: “I wish I could kill you and get away with it.”

Second Bear: “Most agents are just losers who couldn’t get book deals.”

First Bear: “You may actually inspire all the agents in New York to hunt you down with pitchforks and burn you at the stake.”

I’m sure Her Sharkiness, my favorite displaced Oregonian, has seen this little video. She may not have laughed like I did though, because she gets these kinds of questions/statements all the freaking time. Go see her blog for a recent entry into the disgruntled and disillusioned Hall O’Wacky Fame.

Writers…gotta love ’em.

2 Responses

  1. I’m still laughing over this. It’s absolutely PRICELESS!!!!

    My absolute favorite is the last line:

    “I have a gun in my car.”

  2. Some of the comments the guy makes are right out of Janet’s horror stories. I swear, you can’t make up stuff like this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

