Welcome, Christmas

Oh, how we wax rhapsodic about Christmases past – the memories, the family love, the squeals of joy from young and old. Well…I got your Christmas, right here.

The mess, the tchotchkes, the ‘where are we going to put the %$#@ tree this year?’

The switch from regular to LED Christmas lights, and exactly how much time and money it cost us. (Answer: approximately $3,600 (not really), four trips to Home Depot, and roughly 6 hours.) Perhapsย I exaggerate a tad bit. It’s not that bad – just messy as we’re setting up.

And, as we suspected, Kevin will be an enormous help this year as we put up the tree in the coming week.

I joke about the mess, but truthfully (though I will deny it with my last breath) I adore Christmas and the holidays. Shhhhhhhhh… don’t tell anyone. I have a cultured facade of snark to maintain.

More coming later about traditions and new additions – but tell me one thing that bugs you about the holidays. Just one. You can be honest, six blog readers. It’s just between us.

4 Responses

  1. My personal holiday pet peeve is Christmas merchandising that starts before Thanksgiving. Before Halloween, even. Bah, humbug.

    • Oh yes. I agree – and Costco hauls their stuff out in September, it seems. Always shocks me, every year.

      Are you Christmas-y now that T-day has passed us by? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh Kevin โ€ฆ you little impish-angel!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Ok, one thing that bugs me. That’s hard because I really do love Christmas and even the chaos is fun. But I’d say it can get a bit bah-humbug-ish when you have to stress over a gift for each person and you’re wracking your brain over something, just to ‘give a gift’. To me, that’s not what gift giving is about. We’ve simplified this (after MANY years) in our family by having the adults draw names! We have a huge family and this means you get to really focus on one person and make their gift special because your budget is bigger for one that it would be if you had to buy for 25. ๐Ÿ™‚

    We still do gifts for all the kids but we’ve also gotten good at emailing wish-lists. After nearly 20 years, we figure this out! Yay!

    • And I LURVE to give presents. Just adore it. If I could, I’d have an unlimited budget and really go whole hog for every stinkin’ person I know. *hee hee* However, since the cashola is tight, I try to think of some little thing the giftee wouldn’t get for themselves. And if all else fails, a bottle of really good booze. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

