Wrap It Up

Given my advanced age, a year passes by like it’s been shot out of a gun – almost as fast as a kitten running away from the vacuum cleaner. It hardly seems like a full 365 days have expired…surely someone tore a couple of months out of my calendar as a joke. Right?

No?

Oh. Crap.

Then I really am getting older, just as my mother promised. Once when I was whining about the slow passage of time, she cursed me with this, “Someday you will want to take naps, you will want things to take time, and you will regret not savoring every moment you have.”

Don’t you hate it when your mom is right?

My year has been both a challenge and a blessing. I am certainly not complaining…nope, not at all. Every single second on this side of the dirt is a good one. As my own mortality slaps me in the face with a large, stinky salmon-head (remember trout slapping from the old MiRC chat rooms, anyone?) I’ve tried to be more mindful of letting go of the things that aren’t important, and embracing the people who mean the world to me.

My challenges this year have been to help my oldest son with his health issues, to help my youngest son with his academic issues, to help my darling husband remember his happy place, to find enough money to pay for everything, to remind myself that I can’t whinge about a lack of writing career if I don’t write, and to try to fit everything in at the same time.

My blessings remain the people I am lucky enough to call family and friends. My parents, step-parents and parents-in-law. My siblings and their partners, my brother-in-law and his lovely wife. My aunts, uncles and cousins. My amazing friends, near and far. My fabulous, one-of-a-kind writing group who boost me up on a daily basis. My darling husband. My beautiful and talented children.

I wish you a joyful year ahead  – with blessings around every corner and only enough challenges to make your life interesting.

With love and squishy hugs –

Julie

P.S. In the interest of stimulating the economy, I also wish you Rocky Road ice cream, Starbucks mugs, Tiffany silver bracelets, and a new computer. ‘Cause I’m all about helping.

2 Responses

  1. I’m so honored to be among your blessings as you know you’re firmly planted in mine as well. Love ya, Jules! Can’t wait to see what 2012 has in store for us!

  2. MWAH! Love you too, spaz. 🙂 Here’s to a banner year ahead! *raises tea cup*

Leave a Reply

