Not Dead Yet

It’s been a while, my six blog readers. Many whiles. Here’s what’s been happening around my parts:

– My surgery on May 3rd went according to schedule, at least as far as the doctors and hospital were concerned.

– My recovery was, umm, slightly more eventful. I had a couple of rather serious complications that put the brakes on walking, standing, sitting, resting… you know, those little extras that make life livable.

– I wasn’t able to work for about two weeks. TWO WEEKS, people. Sheesh. After my last surgery in March, I lost only one day of work. My expectations were pretty high that this recovery would follow the earlier one. Obviously, I was on crack or something.

– Pathology on all my removed parts showed no cancer cells, so my ovarian granulosa-cell cancer is considered treated and done. Done, that is, as soon as I finish recovering from the surgery to cure me from something that didn’t exist in the first place. Weird, huh?

– My appetite disappeared after my surgery. I turned down Baskin Robbins’ Rocky Road, bacon, toast, chocolate, fries… This in itself was a HUGE indicator that I was Not Well. On the plus side, I’ve lost a considerable amount of weight. Yay?

– My friends and family have been amazingly supportive and wonderful through everything. My darling husband has had to do everything around the house, including all the cooking, cleaning and yard work, and all while beginning to wrap-up the school year and work on grades. I am surrounded by the finest people on Earth.

– Wilbur and Kevin could care less that I can’t lift anything heavier than a tea cup, they just want all the foods NOW.

– Casey-dog sides with the cats.

I hope you and yours are well and happy, and that May has treated you well. I’m looking forward to June and a little normalcy.

Love and squishy hugs –

Julie-pooh

2 Responses

  1. Julie,
    We are glad to hear that you are getting better, albeit slowly. We wish you a funner June.

    Mike and Janis

Leave a Reply

