La Menu

Family party menu for the birthday boy:

 

Red-chile citrus marinated chicken and grilled tortillas (Courtesy of Bobby Flay and the Food Network).

 

Tomatillo and avocado salsa. (BTW – the Food Network menu says the tomatillos are grilled. But they aren’t, at least I don’t think so. I didn’t grill mine, just combined everything except the avocados into a food processor and processed the bejeesus out of it.)

 

Black bean and roasted corn salad. It also has red onion, red peppers, cilantro, lime juice and some other magical ingredients.

 

And a beautiful (if I say so myself) fruit salad. Just behind the fruit is the bowl holding some fire-roasted Hatch chiles. Which I charred up the day before. Because I am just that awesome.

Oldest sprog made salsa/pico de gallo for everyone. Hand made every single bit. No food processor for him, no. He chopped each and every tiny morsel of goodness. And goodness it was. Our guests were eating it as fast as I could refill the bowls. That’s why I didn’t get any pictures. It’s gone, baby, gone.

Another successful birthday-extravaganza. Youngest boy ate a ton, talked to all his relatives, and remembered to thank each and every person.

I really AM proud of him.

Leave a Reply

