Boy, Are My Feet Tired

Last night my darling husband and amazing friends threw me a birthday party. And being the chronic over-sharer I am, I’ll tell you why.

I will turn fifty years old on Tuesday.

Fifty. It hardly seems possible I’ve been here that long. It feels like I just got out of high school, and college, and… Wow. Yet there were times this year when I wasn’t sure I would live long enough to see this birthday at all. Cancer will do that to your head, you know. Make you wonder how long you have left on this earth. It also makes you grateful for the time you’ve had, the friends who surround you, the family you cherish, the experiences you’ve had and will hopefully continue to have.

This morning, I am full of grateful – full right up to my graying and thinning hairs. Thank you to all who joined us at the party last night. Thank you to all who weren’t able to make it. Thank you to everyone who has taken the time to say ‘hello’ and spare a second or two to listen to me babble.

 

My rendition of the Time Warp was stunning, I’m sure, but holy carp – my feet hurt (no doubt due to all the extra ‘me’ I’m packing around). My fabulous friend Carol serenaded us all with ‘Eternal Flame’, and the ice cream cake my darling husband is holding is, of course, Rocky Road.

Some things are non-negotiable.

7 Responses

  1. I wish I could have been there! You look FABULOUS! Love the crown, love the kickin’ jeans, love the adorable top … freaking ADORE the smile. I’ll even love the RR cake. πŸ˜‰ hee!

    I’ll just start staying Happy Birthday now and I won’t stop until the end of the month. You deserve it!

  2. But that means you’re only 25 in Gypsy Years! So grateful for you! Dear Julie we wish a glad Birthday to you!!!

    • Sonya, I had no idea about Gypsy Years! Whew – I feel much better now. And thanks SO much for the birthday song. πŸ™‚

  3. Finally! You have been deservedly coronated as Queen of Loveliness and All Things Wonderful.
    Happy BIrthday!!

  4. also, Duchess of All Things Good and True. I hate it when I forget all your titles.

    • One can get miffed when one’s titles are not recited correctly. You forgot Baroness of Bacon. πŸ™‚ And thank you for the birthday wishes!!

Leave a Reply

