Trek, Part Two

Certain things bring me to the realization, yet again, that I live in the best place on earth. The ocean is an hour away, the mountains are an hour away, and even the desert (if you like that kind of thing) is a few hours east of us. We have Voodoo Doughnuts, Portlandia, Wieden and Kennedy, Nike, The Decemberists, Saturday Market, and Powell’s Bookstore. We have food carts. We have stunning summers. And for the last few years, we’ve had Atomic Arts’ productions of TREK IN THE PARK. This year, the last of their five year mission, they picked the best episode of The Original Series (TOS) ever in the history of ever: ‘The Trouble With Tribbles’.

We arrived at the park at between 1:00 and 1:30 pm. For a 5:00 pm show. Here’s what the crowd looked like at 1:30:

2013-08-10 13.51.45

 

Here’s what the crowd looked like closer to 3:00:

2013-08-10 15.22.37(I’d like to pretend I had some kind of misty filter on my camera, but the truth is probably a smeary fingerprint from the potato chips. Or a cookie. Or a rain drop, since it actually started raining just before the show started.)

2013-08-10 14.38.01Here’s our little site. We circled the wagons until just before 5:00. Notice one of the sprogs reading. He was on the last few pages of a ginormous book he just HAD to finish. It’s one of my all-time favorite books, so I didn’t mind.

2013-08-10 16.36.46I also kind of insisted (in a crazy obnoxious way) that my aunt, dad and favorite (and only) step-mom come with us for this year’s performance. My aunt was the one who got me hooked on Star Trek when I was little. Almost every day we would watch it on our local independent TV station, usually in the early evening. Aunt Kathy knew all the shows, practically by heart. And after a little while, I did, too. So it seemed right and fitting that she experience this ultimate love-letter to the Star Trek universe with me and the rest of the family.

2013-08-10 17.13.57The first appearance of a Tribble caused a wave of applause from the appreciative audience. I didn’t applaud, because the bartender dude looked exactly like one of my bosses, and I was trying to figure out if the terminally shy man I work for had taken up acting in his non-existent spare time. I’m still not sure. I have many questions to ask on Monday morning.

2013-08-10 17.48.07The moment when Kirk opens the grain bins was anxiously awaited by… well, at least me. Here’s the dialogue track from me as I took the picture, “Ladies and gentlemen… we have Tribble-fall.” (Yeah, I know. I’m sorry. But I’d been sitting on the ground being rained on for an hour and I wasn’t at my sharpest. Plus chips and hard cider. Not exactly brain food.)

2013-08-10 18.02.53The entire cast and crew did a tremendous job, and it all stemmed from their love for a show that’s been off the air for over forty years. Amazing, isn’t it? While this is the last summer they’ll do Trek in the Park, they said they’ll move on to do other things. I’m hoping for this:

NEXTGEN IN THE PARK    2014

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

