Thanks, Y’all

I’ve been a bad, bad blogger. No updates. No over-sharing. No inappropriate family pictures. It’s like I disappeared from the face of the planet or something, isn’t it?

Unfortunately for you, no, I haven’t.

I’ve been writing and writing and writing. And when I wasn’t writing, I was exercising, or cooking, or working, or sleeping. Seriously, I can’t remember when I’ve had so little free time, even when I was schlepping kids to Irish Dance classes six days a week. At least back then I got to go to Starbucks and natter with my friends.

Let’s see… I celebrated a birthday with dinners out and a party at home. I watched the live Dr. Who special last Saturday. But mostly it’s been sitting in this damn chair in front of this damn laptop, trying to put more words in my story. Words that made sense and didn’t make me want to vomit a little bit. Or a lot of bits, either.

The good news? My manuscript is now over 80,000 words – a passable and acceptable length for a novel. The bad news? Most of the words are ‘umm’ and ‘uhh’. Kidding! No, the real bad news (for me only)  is that NaNoWriMo is over on Saturday, and I’ve gotten a tad bit behind. I might not make the 50,000 word goal. But even if I don’t, I’ve fleshed out a story *fingers crossed* that’s funny and entertaining. It’s not great literature, but it’s a story.

Have a wonderful, blessed Thanksgiving. I’m grateful for the health I have left, my wonderful husband, my incredibly talented sprogs, my fabulous family, and amazing people I’m lucky enough to call friends. Without all o’ y’all, I’d be a whole lot crazier and a whole lot lonelier. You make everything worthwhile.

And just because…

2013-11-28 08.56.40Casey-the Soggy-Springer wants to know if she can have your turkey. Just a little bit. She’s so hungry.

NaNoWriMo word count: 44,341

Leave a Reply

